Not an easy journey

Running is not an easy journey. Especially if you don’t run. I’ve been on a pseudo-break. Nope, scratch that. I was on a break. I didn’t run for about 2 weeks. There was nothing pseudo about it. I haven’t been sick or injured. Just didn’t want to run. It is that much harder to get out the door when you just don’t want to.

But, I changed that this morning. I went out and ran a mile. Yep, only one. Nothing fancy or fast. Just a quick mile under my belt to get me back in gear.  And then I checked my email and the person who talked me into signing up for the half marathon has not been able to make the logistics work. Such as life. Now I need to decide if I am going to continue on and make this crazy route my first half marathon or if I’ll bag this one and do a 10K about the same time of year (mainly due to schedules).

I’m undecided. There are a couple of other races, including half marathons, that are about the same time of year and on much flatter courses. I may just have to do one of those. A couple of deciding factors: One is where we just moved from and is a road race. The other is in my new town and is a trail race. A trail race sounds a lot more interesting but the appeal of getting to visit friends is a strong bonus for the other race.

I know I won’t run without the incentive of having a race coming up. I especially won’t run in the summer. Ugh. I hate running in the heat.

So I’ll wrap this up staying undecided. I’m not asking for a refund and pulling out of the race yet, but I will be doing some hard looks as some of the other races around the area.

 

About littlehawkyarns

I am a small business owner, spinner, knitter, gardener, and mom. I have two children, two dogs, a husband, and two cats. I enjoy canning good food, getting involved in my community, and going on adventuress with my family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment