Mid-December left us with knowing we would move but that was about it. We made it! Our old house sold, we bought a new house. We got the kids into school and they are adjusting just fine. Tom, my husband, is settling into his new job nicely too. I am adjusting. We bought a place in town so that is a large adjustment to make. In a lot of ways good adjustments despite missing my acreage, large garden, chickens, and even the adventures of living where we had all sorts of critters to protect our pets from. The good stuff is that we walk a lot. We are basically across the football field from my daughter’s school, a 15 minute walk from my husband’s work, and a couple of mile drive from my son’s school (although he’ll be across the football field next year). I’ve actually met people in the first 3 months of living here because we live in town.

On the other hand, I have no idea what I’m doing with this yard/garden. The previous owner had quite a few perennials, which is great, but with everything snow-covered until basically now, I am just now getting to see what we have for a yard. No chickens this year. We’ll need a new coop and to figure out where exactly I want them. I have plans of moving at least one garden bed. It is in the way of the driveway. Because we have two cars we need that parking space more than the garden space.

I am working on building my yarn business back up. Slowly I’ll find my market again. In the meantime I have several avenues I’m working on.

The big thing besides moving to town… I am running again. I was talked into registering for a half marathon in September. Yikes! Tom says I should blog about that. I might add a page, or blog, or just make this one about running for a while. I don’t know yet. I do know that I am going from a sedentary desk job and next to no exercise to doing this half marathon. And it is NOT a nice flat race. So… I may end up talking a lot about that. I’m sure I’ll have some gardening, and family, and pets in there too. Those are all a pretty big part of my life.

About littlehawkyarns

I am a small business owner, spinner, knitter, gardener, and mom. I have two children, two dogs, a husband, and two cats. I enjoy canning good food, getting involved in my community, and going on adventuress with my family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Whew…

  1. Seems like your move into town and all the walking you are all doing now was sort of prepping you for your next adventure! Hope your training for your half goes well and you enjoy getting active again ;).

Leave a Reply to cat h bradley Cancel reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s