Dry winter

Still very little snow here this year. We’ve gotten some but I’ve been hearing about fires starting from sparks from a burning barrel. In December. Usually we’ve had enough snow that isn’t a problem. Not the case this year. It makes me nervous for what the summer will bring.

As the year 2016 comes to a close I always like to reflect a bit on the year past and the upcoming year. This year has been quite the year.

Things that happened or that we did this year:

  • Made a couple of trips to South Dakota with the family (this is a fun easy get-away for us)
  • A trip or two down to the Boulder, CO area to meet up with family
  • A trip to Seattle to visit family
  • I opened a yarn store
  • I’ve decided I really don’t like my office job, but it pays the bills and makes the yarn store possible because it is my safety net. I hope to soon work without a net.
  • I would love to run a farm, but haven’t figured out how to manage the juggling everything with animal care.
  • My kids make me laugh every single day, and sometimes that laughter is because they drive me a little insane.

Those are the major highlights. I’ve been terrible about running this year. I started out the year with an abscessed tooth and it seemed to affect everything so I was off to a bad start, then I got crazy busy and wasn’t good about keeping up on it, and now it gets dark so early it is hard to squeeze a run in. That is one of my plans for the upcoming year is to get more running in. I enjoy it (never thought I’d say that) and it will help me to get my blood pressure back down.

I don’t really do resolutions but I do tend to make some yearly goals. This year my goals are:

  • Run on a regular basis again
  • Fit in at least a 5K race and maybe try to train for a longer race
  • Get my blood pressure down
  • grow my yarn store business
  • quit my other office job
  • new roof on the house (we got hail over the summer that makes this a requirement)
  • re-work the chicken coop so it will be warmer, easier to clean, and accommodate more chickens
  • plant more trees
  • actually garden
  • Do another Eat Local Challenge
  • Clean up our fences
  • clean out the old goat pen
  • fix up some better outdoor shelters for our cats (we got a new one and they’ve gone all strangely territorial so one that has been here the longest doesn’t seem welcome in the garage anymore)
  • Enjoy our travel to Europe in March
  • meditate on occasion
  • write more often again

I think that is a good start to the year. Nothing crazy, just some overall goals. I never have understood the resolution thing. Most folks don’t stick to them for long as it is.

I’m off to continue on my taxes and books for my business. That is by far the worst part of owning your own business. The bookkeeping.

 

About littlehawkyarns

I'm a gardener that is trying to provide good food for my family to enjoy. I have two children, two dogs, a husband, four chickens, and four cats. In addition gardening I enjoy handwork such as knitting, crochet, and sewing. I'm in the process of trying to learn tatting and embroidery as well. I am soon adding more critters to the collection since we just got property and I spin yarn.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

