Finally! Some winter weather.

November 17, 2016 and we finally got measurable snow. About stinking time! We have been soooo dry. I’m glad to have a bit of moisture although I’m never thrilled about driving in the snow. You would think learning to drive in the snow and driving in it my whole life I wouldn’t mind it. That’s true part of the time, but depending on the roads most of the time I dislike driving in the snow.

Chores aren’t as much fun in the snow either. Getting bundled up to go chop ice or move wind blocks around isn’t ideal. We’ve had such a mild Fall that I haven’t gotten around to winterizing much at all. Dang! I had to do a quick move on some plywood to help block the wind around the chicken coop, that I need to clean. Both the chicken coop and the dog house need new bedding too. Working two in-town jobs sure gets in the way of doing things at the house.

At least the one job is my own. I opened up my own yarn store on the 12th. I’m hoping it can lead to the end of my other in-town job and I can just work for myself. With that I would like to be able to do more farm/ranch stuff. Critters for my own fiber etc. I toy with the idea of a milk cow but that is just insane. What I may do is go in with my friend who is working with a young heifer to get that heifer to be a milker. I would love to help out with that and get some of the milk. The issue with having a milk cow is that you have to milk them every. single. day. Rain or shine. You do not leave because no one wants to have to ask the people watching their place to milk too. That is actually what my friend and I have been discussing though. They like to travel a little on weekends and stuff to visit family and would like to have the milk cow too. If I am willing to milk while watching their place they could have the milk cow and be able to leave the place once in a while.

So still lots of ideas floating around. Just not sure which will work and what won’t. I will be very excited if I can get back down to one job. Especially if it is working for myself. For now I’m off to work on my many projects.

About littlehawkyarns

I'm a gardener that is trying to provide good food for my family to enjoy. I have two children, two dogs, a husband, four chickens, and four cats. In addition gardening I enjoy handwork such as knitting, crochet, and sewing. I'm in the process of trying to learn tatting and embroidery as well. I am soon adding more critters to the collection since we just got property and I spin yarn.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

