Eat Local Wrap Up

Where to begin? This was harder in some ways than I had anticipated. I forgot to factor in that school for us (my husband and I) started on the 15th so the whole week prior to that is a total madhouse where we work. This also means we had zero energy to do anything as far as cooking. And to make matters worse we had a brown out that may have taken out our refrigerator. 😦 We haven’t gotten a chance to work on it. Again, that craziness that is the start of the school year. My kids start school next week, so we really don’t get any slack until September. Oops. I forgot to factor that in.  Oh well.

How did it go? I keep getting asked that. Overall my Eat Local Challenge went really well. Did we fudge it some nights? Absolutely! Did we eat more or less junk? MORE! We have a local creamery and bakery so ice cream and donuts! Yummy. But, talk about junk food. We ended up modifying things mid-way because of this. We thought it was silly that we could have ice cream and donuts but not apples or watermelon. So, we allowed the fruit back in with the caveat that it be USA fruit so bananas were still out.

We got to eat at several great local establishments and even tried a couple of new restaurants. One new to town, the other was just new to us. I didn’t have to go to Wal-Mart! Not for groceries anyway. We still went for school supplies but that was it. Hooray!

We shopped a lot at the farmers’ market for meat and eggs and watermelon and cantaloupe now that the fruit is ripe. We tried our local butcher/specialty meat shop. Not local meat we found out, but local value added. We can’t win completely.

Things that were easy: milk, eggs, chicken, veggies, honey, beef.

Things that were hard: travelling, fruit, flour, spices, sugar, and breakfast. So much so that we ended up giving in and getting cereal and not worrying about the spices and flour. I did not buy anything new other than the cereal.

The best part of the whole challenge? Peoples’ generosity. I was given beef, lemons, cucumbers, basil, squash, and maybe something else. I’m sorry if I am forgetting you. Peoples’ encouragement was another good thing. Every one was very supportive of me.

So could we survive from our own back yard? Not mine this year! Grasshoppers and hail took care of that. But with the whole community pulling together we likely could. I know my family would have a lot of work before we were self-sufficient, but I am happy with my pantry stocking. I do need to adjust a few things to line up more with what we actually eat though.

 

About littlehawkyarns

I'm a gardener that is trying to provide good food for my family to enjoy. I have two children, two dogs, a husband, four chickens, and four cats. In addition gardening I enjoy handwork such as knitting, crochet, and sewing. I'm in the process of trying to learn tatting and embroidery as well. I am soon adding more critters to the collection since we just got property and I spin yarn.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

