Eat Local Hiccup

With my eat local  challenge it just dawned on me yesterday that I’m travelling for a week right in the middle of it. I won’t have a ton of time outside of my conference but I am going to try to see what I can do about getting a hold of some local food to where I will be. So… I just went looking to see what is available in Austin. There is a farmers market a couple of blocks from me!! Even better? They have a program that is just starting where they use the UberEats App and a box is delivered. I’m really excited about that because I will be in a seminar when the market runs. This way I’ll be able to get my local produce, lower my food bill, and stick mostly to my eat local challenge.

I really don’t foresee being able to stick 100% to the challenge while flying, staying in a hotel, and being in an unfamiliar town. I would like to get as much food as I can locally though.

I keep debating just how strict to go on this. Do I go ahead and buy locally made products and not worry about where they get their ingredients, or do I get super strict and say that even their ingredients need to be local? We have a yogurt company that is local to us and makes wonderful yogurt, but I know no all of their ingredients can be local. Coconut simply does not grow in our climate. I’m thinking for the most part even the ingredients in products should be local. That is the whole point. Besides, it is only for a month. One can go without a lot of things for a month. And I will be eating a whole lot of not local on my business trip.

So a bit more to iron out I see. Good thing there is a little over a month before it starts. I wonder if anyone would like to do the challenge with me. My local paper has a reporter I will be working with. Maybe we can get a few of us to do the challenge.

 

About littlehawkyarns

I'm a gardener that is trying to provide good food for my family to enjoy. I have two children, two dogs, a husband, four chickens, and four cats. In addition gardening I enjoy handwork such as knitting, crochet, and sewing. I'm in the process of trying to learn tatting and embroidery as well. I am soon adding more critters to the collection since we just got property and I spin yarn.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

