Bad blogger

Gee, can’t tell I started a new job. Over a year since I posted. I had been doing well and then went and started working for someone else. The office job is decent. Not my favorite job ever but not the worst either. It pays well and makes it so our money isn’t nearly so tight. That is a relief.

I have very little time to work at the house now though. My garden is still in a terrible state from last Fall. I never cleaned it up before the snow hit so the weeds are tall.  I didn’t even start any seeds this year. I’ve been a member at a Community Supported Agriculture (C.S.A.) off and on for a couple of years now. This year I did the full year subscription so I’m in no hurry to put a garden in. I have all the vegetables my family of four can eat for a small monthly amount. That C.S.A. membership has gotten me thinking…

This summer I am going to challenge my family to an eat local challenge. We have a few basic rules laid out so far.  I’ve got it determined our food will come from a 200 mile radius. We will have a few exceptions to the local only. We are going to allow coffee (for the safety of those around me), chocolate, salt, and olive oil. Beyond that I think we can get absolutely everything we need within that 200 mile radius.  The other thing will be that we are allowed to use pantry items, but I’m not allowed to stock up in preparation for the challenge. I’m not about to waste food so I’m not going to buy extra stuff when I have things sitting in my pantry.

Our timeline is July 15 through August 15. I’m hoping doing it at this time we’ll be at the height of our summer vegetable season. This way I might actually be able to have fruit during this challenge. Fruit and local grains will be the hardest part of the challenge. I have a lead on a flour supplier and we have lots of local beans, but I think it will be harder to find things like oats for oatmeal. This is probably where my pantry will come into play.

I am also going to try to remember to track the money part of this. I always hear about how expensive local and organic food is. That is the case on some things, but I don’t think it has to be that way. I think it is very do-able on a tight budget.

The most exciting part of this for me is that our local paper wants to run the story. I’m hoping this will get a few others participating in the challenge and raise awareness of our local producers. That is the goal at any rate.

For today I’m off to scope out coffee roasters in Northern Colorado. Even though coffee doesn’t grow locally I’d like to buy from local roasters. Thank goodness we live near enough to No. Colorado that it is within that 200 mile radius.

About littlehawkyarns

I'm a gardener that is trying to provide good food for my family to enjoy. I have two children, two dogs, a husband, four chickens, and four cats. In addition gardening I enjoy handwork such as knitting, crochet, and sewing. I'm in the process of trying to learn tatting and embroidery as well. I am soon adding more critters to the collection since we just got property and I spin yarn.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

