Officially Spring

As of yesterday afternoon it is officially Spring. My goats, dogs, cats, and chickens have been telling me it is spring for a while now.  Dogs, cats, and goats have all been shedding and the chickens are laying regularly again. I do enjoy seeing the seasonality of one’s food in the chickens. It is no wonder we associate eggs with Easter. By the time Easter is here the chickens are laying like crazy and everyone has an abundance of eggs. It isn’t too bad when you only have two chickens though. I keep thinking I’ll add a few more but I need to figure out a way to keep all my predators out.

With my critter situation… I plan on getting rid of my goats. I had their fiber tested and it isn’t fine enough to qualify as cashmere so down the road they go. Plus I’m starting a new in-town job on Monday so I won’t have time to watch them or work with them. They will need a lot of work to be well cared for and they just aren’t very pleasant. I’ve never been a huge fan of goats and now I know for sure that I don’t care for them. Live and learn. I think had these two been friendlier I might have warmed to the idea of goats, but they are not.

The garden is mostly ready. I need to clean the goat pen out and put the bedding on the garden. I need to start seeds too. I’m already behind. Luna is growing like a weed. She has doubled (maybe more) in size since I got her at the end of January. She is now four months old and weighs in around 50-60 pounds. At the vet last month she was 39 pounds and has gained since then. We have to do boosters this week so we’ll find out just how big she has gotten. She is a very sweet pup. She and the other dog get along really well and play together most of the day.

It is supposed to be another beautiful day so I suppose I’d better get some yard work done and some general playing outside before I start an office job on Monday.

About littlehawkyarns

I'm a gardener that is trying to provide good food for my family to enjoy. I have two children, two dogs, a husband, four chickens, and four cats. In addition gardening I enjoy handwork such as knitting, crochet, and sewing. I'm in the process of trying to learn tatting and embroidery as well. I am soon adding more critters to the collection since we just got property and I spin yarn.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

