Winter is Here

For the next week or so we are to have lots of winter weather.  Cold, snow, wind, and who knows what else it will throw at us.  Good thing I have lots of straw.  Straw is a wonderful insulator for the animals.

I will be headed out here in just a bit to check on everyone.  The chickens came out like normal this morning so I’m not sure that they will head back in through the snow.  I need to make sure everyone’s water is still thawed, there is plenty of hay, and no one is getting too wet.

I have just a few little things to finish up and then I’ll be able to put power to my new electric fence as well.  I need to get my ground rods driven into the ground before it freezes.  A few more insulators and then we’ll be good to go.  I’m hoping the snow will lighten up for a bit to let me get that done.  We shall see what Mother Nature will allow.

I will be enjoying the winter weather for the most part though.  I love getting to sit next to the wood stove and knit, spin, or read.  I’d better go check on the fire.

About littlehawkyarns

I'm a gardener that is trying to provide good food for my family to enjoy. I have two children, two dogs, a husband, four chickens, and four cats. In addition gardening I enjoy handwork such as knitting, crochet, and sewing. I'm in the process of trying to learn tatting and embroidery as well. I am soon adding more critters to the collection since we just got property and I spin yarn.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

