Eat Local Wrap Up and Farmstead Update

Our official challenge is over.  Overall not a lot changed in how we ate.  The biggest change was in how I shopped.  Instead of one big trip it ended up being a couple of smaller trips.  A bit more inconvenient, but well worth the lack of frustration in shopping at the big box stores.  Especially one in particular.

Our weather has finally turned to winter.  We had a very warm October.  Mostly in the 80s. That was a bit crazy.  Today we woke to rain that turned to snow and now is mostly slush. Makes for some yucky roads.  Our clay soil gets very soft and slick to drive on.  I would rather it be freezing.  Yes, the ice is slick but on dirt roads we don’t get much ice and frozen dirt/mud has a lot more traction than the slimy mud.

At least the weather is helping to keep my goats contained.  They have figured out how to jump the fences.  I am beginning to really question my sanity for ever getting them.  I have spent time every single day chasing goats. They are an exercise in frustration.

The chickens are still laying nicely considering the light is waning.  I still usually get two eggs a day.  Not bad considering I only have two chickens.  The three cats are figuring out how to get along.  The one female is not impressed by the two male kittens. They’ll get it all sorted once they realize it is nicer to share the warm garage than to be outside in the weather by themselves.

I got my potatoes dug and into the basement.  We shall see how long they last.  I am finding I am not doing a great job with my onions.  I might have to figure out how to work a dehydrator into my budget next year.  Dehydrated onions take up a lot less space too.  I feel like this year has been a bit of a flop as far as my food storage goes.  Not terrible but it hasn’t gone especially well.  Not a year I’m ready to show all the lovely jars of preserved food.  It just isn’t there.  I got a little done but not enough.  It is never enough.  I am very thankful we live in a modern era that I can supplement with the grocery store.  Although if I didn’t have the store as backup I would be a lot more motivated to take care of our pantry.

Now it is off to take care of my meal planning.  I dislike doing it, but it is the only way to stay within my budget.

About littlehawkyarns

I'm a gardener that is trying to provide good food for my family to enjoy. I have two children, two dogs, a husband, four chickens, and four cats. In addition gardening I enjoy handwork such as knitting, crochet, and sewing. I'm in the process of trying to learn tatting and embroidery as well. I am soon adding more critters to the collection since we just got property and I spin yarn.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

