Eat Local…How are we doing?

I broke down and did make one quick trip to one of the big box stores.  Not the most hated but one of them.  And the worst is that I can’t even think why at the moment.  Oh, yes I do.  We’d had a play date and we found out they carried a favorite snack in small quantities that were on sale in the Halloween section.  Since it is a seasonal item and something we haven’t found elsewhere I did it.  Otherwise we’ve been really good about shopping the local stores.  I haven’t done the math yet but we might have even spent less money on better food.

Let me think here… $90 some odd dollar trip, a couple of $30 trips, a couple of $20 trips.  By a big fat guesstimate I spent less than normal.  I just added it up.  $446 that included a before we started $114 trip to the big box store.  So if I pull that out since it was before October 1 that puts us at around $332.  Granted we had help in that my in-laws bought some groceries when they joined us at the end of September and I have a nicely stocked pantry and freezer.  This also does not account for eating out.  Which, in looking at it we’ve done plenty of this month.

Overall so far I am tickled to say we aren’t spending a ton of money and we are still getting fresh, local, and a lot of times organic, food.  I am not being super strict about this challenge though.  It just doesn’t seem worth absolutely stressing over the little details.  Especially since this is a for fun thing we are doing.

I can see that if a person did not have a pantry that was well stocked it would be a lot harder to do this challenge and not spend too much money.  I think it could be done, but you would need to spend a lot more.

We are half way through October at this point so we are half way through our challenge. I’m kind of excited to see our payday roll around so I can go shopping again. We are on our last week or so of the pay period and that week is always pretty slim pickings.  Tonight on our menu I have planned to make hamburgers.  Local beef, tomatoes from my garden, buns (I got lazy and bought them) from our co-op.  Maybe some roasted broccoli if it is still good.  Either that or I’ll do something with kale from the garden.  Or maybe I’ll get ambitious and dig potatoes and make fries.  We’ll see.

About littlehawkyarns

I'm a gardener that is trying to provide good food for my family to enjoy. I have two children, two dogs, a husband, four chickens, and four cats. In addition gardening I enjoy handwork such as knitting, crochet, and sewing. I'm in the process of trying to learn tatting and embroidery as well. I am soon adding more critters to the collection since we just got property and I spin yarn.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

