October 2nd and a Freeze Predicted

Frost predicted tonight.  Such as life in October.  I should have a few more half pints of tomato sauce that I can process this morning.  I also have a few plums that are cooked down.  Not sure if I’ll make plum sauce, butter, or jelly.  We’ll see what I feel like making when I’m done with the tomato sauce.  I picked raspberries yesterday so I’ll see about freezing a bunch and then probably make a small batch of raspberry jam.  I only picked about five pounds so not too much.

I will hopefully get to cleaning up the garden today as well.  I have sick tomato plants that need pulled and burned and edging that needs moved.  I’ll probably dig some potatoes too.  That will pretty much wrap up my garden this year.  A few more onions to take care of and then I’ll be done.  Kind of a sad year in the garden.  Good thing there is always next year.

With our Eat Local Challenge I’m hoping to work that into a season of eating local not just a month.  With that thought on my mind I will have to work the garden a lot better next season.  This year I just didn’t have it in me.  Strange since I usually use my garden as a retreat from the rest of the world.  Maybe that is why.  I wasn’t all that involved in the rest of the world so I didn’t need the retreat as much.

I’d better get going on my day.  I’ve put the tomato sauce and plums off long enough.

About littlehawkyarns

I'm a gardener that is trying to provide good food for my family to enjoy. I have two children, two dogs, a husband, four chickens, and four cats. In addition gardening I enjoy handwork such as knitting, crochet, and sewing. I'm in the process of trying to learn tatting and embroidery as well. I am soon adding more critters to the collection since we just got property and I spin yarn.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

