October

It is already October 1st.  Summer sure has gone by quickly.  Today is the official start to my Eat/Shop Local Challenge for our family.  Fitting then that it is also milk pick-up day and I plan on taking the kids out to our local u-pick farm for raspberries and maybe some pumpkins.  This weekend starts our winter farmers’ market so I’m hoping to make it there to pick up any veggies that I need for the rest of the month.

I noticed this morning that I’m going to need a new hay tarp.  My hay was awfully warm inside so it has obviously gotten wet at some point.  That little bit of damp and the resulting mold can actually make a hay stack catch on fire.  Not something I want to experience.

Temperatures have dropped a bit.  Thank goodness.  I was beginning to think that we were going to stay in the 90s through October.  That would not be pleasant.

Well, I’m off to get some work done.  Short school day for the kiddo so I need to get some things done while I have a chance.

About littlehawkyarns

I'm a gardener that is trying to provide good food for my family to enjoy. I have two children, two dogs, a husband, four chickens, and four cats. In addition gardening I enjoy handwork such as knitting, crochet, and sewing. I'm in the process of trying to learn tatting and embroidery as well. I am soon adding more critters to the collection since we just got property and I spin yarn.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

