A while I know.

Summer does that to a person.  I would much rather be outside most of the summer since I’m stuck inside for most of the winter.  That isn’t to say I’m out as much as I should be, but…

This year is a rough garden year.  We have had some wacky up and down temperatures that have done a number on the garden.  Plus, I just plain burned myself out last year.  I barely planted this year and what I have planted hasn’t done so hot.  My tomatoes are an utter failure.  I might get 5 tomatoes total off of almost 30 plants.  I have deduced it is either residual herbicides or a virus.  Either way I have no tomatoes. 😦  Luckily since I now manage our local farmers’ market I know several people with lots of tomatoes so I won’t be without.  It will just cost me more than I wanted it to.  So be it.

The garden has given me lots of onions, garlic, potatoes, basil, oregano, and green beans.  I really didn’t plant much more than that.  I have kale too but I burned out on everything so much last year I really haven’t even been harvesting much.  Here and there, but mostly it goes to the chickens.  The two we have left give us lovely eggs.  My problem is we just don’t eat enough eggs.  Not sure why, but we don’t. 

We are moving the set up of the garden next year.  Well, probably once winter hits and things die back we’ll move things around and re-dig.  Hopefully this will help with eliminating issues plus free up some back yard for the kiddos.  And maybe, just maybe next year I will be more in a mood to actually pay attention to my garden and canning/preserving.

I have been much more focused on running the farmers’ market, my own yarn business and market stall, and now I’m joining the board of directors of our local grocery co-op.  I must be crazy.  In some ways I am I suppose.  The co-op is something I believe in so I think I should support it 100% in any way possible.

Speaking of my own business and garden though… I had better get some spinning done while the kids are momentarily quiet.

About littlehawkyarns

I'm a gardener that is trying to provide good food for my family to enjoy. I have two children, two dogs, a husband, four chickens, and four cats. In addition gardening I enjoy handwork such as knitting, crochet, and sewing. I'm in the process of trying to learn tatting and embroidery as well. I am soon adding more critters to the collection since we just got property and I spin yarn.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

