Firewood

It is time to get moving on the gathering of firewood. I figure we’ll need at a minimum of two cords. Especially if we get a winter anywhere near as cold as last winter. We have our chainsaw now which means I can cut the dead trees off my property and then I can buy the firewood that is left after that. Also, now I can keep an eye out in the classifieds for folks that want their dead trees removed.

Onions and potatoes are doing well. So is the garlic. I’ve got to get dehydrating on herbs before they are done. My tomatoes are not doing well this year. Okay, but not well. The peppers are okay. I have one little pepper coming on that is just about done.

Our pasture looks good this year. It is nice to have the calves on it and still see good forage out there. I’m hoping next year they’ll be back and cross fence it so we can manage the cheat grass I have.

I talked to our local bee man yesterday at the farmers’ market. He is going to give me a call when he is either working bees or their group of beekeepers get together so I can join them. It sounds as if he may have hives for sale in the spring too. It would be great to get a hold of a couple of established hives.

Things are progressing on our little place. Slowly but they are progressing. Someday we’ll have a barn built. Of some sort anyway. Our cold winters tell me I would like a barn for my critters to get out of the weather and to store the paraphernalia that goes with the different kinds of critters.

Now I am off to get some things done before it gets too hot to move.

About littlehawkyarns

I'm a gardener that is trying to provide good food for my family to enjoy. I have two children, two dogs, a husband, four chickens, and four cats. In addition gardening I enjoy handwork such as knitting, crochet, and sewing. I'm in the process of trying to learn tatting and embroidery as well. I am soon adding more critters to the collection since we just got property and I spin yarn.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

