New Garden Friend

Just found a little garter snake in my pea patch today. I was picking spinach and kale for lunch and he slithered out from under the peas. I was happy to see he had a full belly. I’ll let the garter snakes and toads in my garden no problem. They help keep the other pests down.

Potatoes are blooming like crazy, the onions are huge (tops anyway), spinach, kale, and arugula are growing like crazy, and the beans are climbing nicely. The strawberries I just put in have bloomed and putting on a few berries. Enough for the birds anyway. I should get some nice parsnip seeds this year. My tomatoes are a little sad but I think with adding some water they’ll do all right. Same with the peppers. We’ve had enough moisture that I haven’t been very good about watering.

I’ve been happy to start eating from the garden again. Today’s lunch was eggs scrambled with kale, spinach, and onion tops. All of which were from my backyard. I’m hoping to harvest some more herbs. The oregano, lemon thyme, and parsley is doing really well. Oh and the cilantro has kind of taken over my garden. I need to get some dill in. I’ve been terrible this year about getting stuff in on time.

I’d better get some other work done so maybe I can attend to the garden stuff after market tomorrow.

About littlehawkyarns

I'm a gardener that is trying to provide good food for my family to enjoy. I have two children, two dogs, a husband, four chickens, and four cats. In addition gardening I enjoy handwork such as knitting, crochet, and sewing. I'm in the process of trying to learn tatting and embroidery as well. I am soon adding more critters to the collection since we just got property and I spin yarn.
This entry was posted in Garden and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

