A bit of experimenting.

The very sweet pup (about a year old now) Kyra keeps getting into things. Namely right now she has been digging the garden beds. I am trying not to complain too much because she is digging after varmints. She is great at digging out moles, voles, and catching rabbits. Problem is that the last couple of nights is that she has been digging up the beds I just planted or are just sprouting. Argh!! So my experiment is in pallets. I have three pallets just laid over the one bed. This should be fine for a day or two but at least one of them will need moved to allow the peppers room to grow. The other bed has a couple of towers in it for the beans so I just leaned a pallet up against the tower. Hopefully this will be enough of a visual reminder that she’ll leave the digging. At least there.

Yes, this is the same dog that chews hoses (now lost about six of them), that chews everything for that matter, and that killed the chicken. But she is so stinking good with the kids I can’t hold it against her for too long. She is about the sweetest dog ever. Just is a little too much of a dog sometimes. Durned instincts anyway. I must say, I am glad that she hunts the rabbits and other critters. It means I actually have flowers in the garden. My poor old dog has always been oblivious to that stuff. He is smart but couldn’t care less about mice and the like. For all he cares they can run across his nose. Now a snake or lizard is another matter with him. I’ve only known him to kill reptiles.

We shall find out how the pallet experiment goes. I am thinking and brainstorming some other pallet ideas for the garden as well. There are a ton of ideas out there but I just need to decide what will work best in my little corner of the world.

Oh, and big-ish homestead news. I have a friend that raises beef that may pasture a few head on my patch. Grazing animals without the purchase price, without the hay purchase, and without the vet or butcher bills. We have yet to work out a final deal but I am hoping that pasture rent will include some beef for my freezer. Especially since they are 100% grass-fed. My pasture sure could use the grazing and I know they need the pasture. Hope it works out to be a win-win.

About littlehawkyarns

I'm a gardener that is trying to provide good food for my family to enjoy. I have two children, two dogs, a husband, four chickens, and four cats. In addition gardening I enjoy handwork such as knitting, crochet, and sewing. I'm in the process of trying to learn tatting and embroidery as well. I am soon adding more critters to the collection since we just got property and I spin yarn.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

