Garden

I am finally getting the garden most of the way in. It is finally getting to where I feel relatively safe about putting my seedlings out. Almost June and I am still very leery of frosts.

So let’s see… Today I put in 12 Beefsteak tomato seedlings, 100 onion sets, two short rows of luffa gourd, 3 Green Zebra tomatoes, 3 sweet basil transplants, and another row of basil in seed. This last week I have put in seed of lemon balm, pepper starts (dang dog keeps digging those up!), transplanted some peppermint (I know it spreads and I actually like that about it), cut a bunch of parsley and sold it, and planted my beans and cantaloupe seeds. My potatoes are finally getting started. Let’s hope they don’t get frozen again. I have cilantro seeds coming up like crazy because I was completely lazy and let the plants stay with all the seeds so they dropped seeds. It means they are nice and hardy though. Well, as hardy as cilantro gets.

I have spinach, arugula, and broccoli seeds that have sprouted. The peas, kale, carrots, and radishes that I planted a month and a half ago are finally getting going. I have finally been able to keep the chickens out for the most part. I planted a rose-bush for my daughter. She has been after me to grow a rose. It is the only thing she asks to grow so I broke down and bought a rose for her.

What else? I still have about another 9 tomatoes to plant but I need 7 more cages. I finally found the cages I like so I am going to get a bunch of those. I am debating building some sort of pallet fence to keep the dang dog out of the pepper plants. I would rather not but I might have to.

I think it is time to head back out and work on washing wool and directing the lawn mower man. I just came in for a quick break.

About littlehawkyarns

I'm a gardener that is trying to provide good food for my family to enjoy. I have two children, two dogs, a husband, four chickens, and four cats. In addition gardening I enjoy handwork such as knitting, crochet, and sewing. I'm in the process of trying to learn tatting and embroidery as well. I am soon adding more critters to the collection since we just got property and I spin yarn.
This entry was posted in Garden and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

