3 weeks to the frost date

My average frost-free date is May 20. I am a little behind on the garden but not too bad. I tried starting celery from seed this year. Not a one germinated. I wonder what happened? Probably a combination of bad planting practices and old seed. Such as life. My asparagus has been up and it has been hard not to harvest some. We did take a nibble of a one. Yummy! I can hardly wait until next year when they are truly ready to harvest. Everything says to wait until at least the second year and some places say to wait until year three. I doubt I’m that patient.

Let’s see, what I have planted so far:

Onions- About a hundred with about another 100 sets to get in the ground yet.
Potatoes- Whatever was in the pile of sprouted potatoes. I’m going to guess about 3 pounds. I actually have them in rows this year so we’ll see how they do.
Peas- I have had to re-plant twice because of my chickens. Stinkers!
Kale- I just planted some around the edge of the pea bed to help prevent weeds.
Carrots- Only a small row. We like carrots okay but not huge fans. I do like that they store in the ground though.
Radishes- Mostly to mark the carrot row.
Strawberries- I put in 50 plants this year.
Apple trees- 4 we got for Christmas came the other day and they are in.
American plum- 10
Woods Rose- 10
Golden Current- 10

I also have started from seed:
Sage
Thyme
Onions
Tomatoes
Peppers
Savory
Lovage
Rosemary
Mint
Basil

And I ordered 5 little Italian Sweet Pepper plants.

I am hoping we have some nice weather this weekend and I’ll put in my Sage, Thyme, and Onions. They have been hardening off and are doing quite well despite our 40 mph winds, rain, hail, and snow. Of course my babies are protected on the South side of the garage but they are still being tested.

I am seeing that the potatoes and onions I planted are coming along nicely. My apricot tree appears to have made it through the winter. I have hollyhocks coming up and we’ll see how the grapes have done.

Over the next couple of weeks I will be trying to get my lemon balm and dill sown along with some spinach and lettuce. I might even try for some broccoli and cabbage. We’ll see how ambitious I get.

About littlehawkyarns

I'm a gardener that is trying to provide good food for my family to enjoy. I have two children, two dogs, a husband, four chickens, and four cats. In addition gardening I enjoy handwork such as knitting, crochet, and sewing. I'm in the process of trying to learn tatting and embroidery as well. I am soon adding more critters to the collection since we just got property and I spin yarn.
This entry was posted in Garden and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

