Spring Update

Spring chores on the farmstead get tough when you get spring snow storms. At least the snow hasn’t lasted long. Sunday we got about 4 inches but as of this morning it is mostly bare ground again. I am thankful for the moisture. It was so dry before that I had actually watered the garden a little bit and was worrying that I was going to have to do it again.

This week once the ground dries up again a bit I need to continue my chicken fencing. My chickens think that my trying to keep them out of the garden is the worst thing I could ever do to them. They certainly are not caged chickens. They get down right grumpy being locked in their very large pen. I swear I have had yards smaller than their pen. Now they are miffed that they don’t have the full 25 acres to roam on all day long. I’ve still been letting them out mostly because I don’t have all their escape holes plugged yet. I got the wire and then it snowed. So, one of this week’s many projects is plugging chicken escape holes. I need to keep my garden after all.

Speaking of the garden. So far my asparagus, onions, garlic, parsnips from last year, chives, lemon thyme, and oregano are all growing like crazy. The peas, radishes, and kale are struggling against chicken raids. I think I have three pea shoots showing. I’m going to have to plant again after I get the escape holes plugged.

I need to call about two different small flocks of sheep too. I keep putting it off because I’m going to guess I don’t have the money for the animals. Of course I won’t know for sure because I haven’t called.

I now have a source for some pallets so I’ve got some projects planned. I’m working expanding the chicken coop in addition to making it more secure. I want to get four or five chicks this Spring. I’m thinking I want more Buff Orpington and a couple of Easter egg layers. Mainly just because I want pretty eggs. The Buffs seem to do well with their smaller combs in our cold weather. I like the looks of the Rhode Islands but they can be a little on the ornery side and their combs were trying to freeze a bit this winter.

With all my chores staring at me this morning I’d better get started on a few of them.

About littlehawkyarns

I'm a gardener that is trying to provide good food for my family to enjoy. I have two children, two dogs, a husband, four chickens, and four cats. In addition gardening I enjoy handwork such as knitting, crochet, and sewing. I'm in the process of trying to learn tatting and embroidery as well. I am soon adding more critters to the collection since we just got property and I spin yarn.
This entry was posted in Garden and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

