I got busy

We went from being still pretty cold to kind of nice around here. Today there was a lot of wind but otherwise it was mostly sunny. Tomorrow is six weeks until our official frost date of May 20th. I am being on my seed starts. I need to be starting my warm weather crops.

Yesterday I did a bunch of raking and cleaning up of the garden area. I was going to mow some weeds and some of the thicker patches of grass but wouldn’t you know there were repairs to the mower that needed to be made. A flat tire, a dead battery, and a mouse nest to evict. And then by the time that was all done the rain (well clouds and wind) moved in. So all I got done was some raking, a chicken coop clean, and a mower tire inflated and battery on the charger. Not too bad but it sure could have been better.

Also, yesterday I was starting to feel a tickle in my throat. Why now? Spring is not the time a person wants to have a head cold. I was able to fend it off yesterday and most of this morning, but this evening my head is something of its very own creation. Not fair that I fended off sickness all winter and now that the weather is getting nice it nails me. Grrrr!

Now for the exciting news. I got the job of being our farmer’s market manager! I’m excited and terrified all at once. Once I get settled in I’m sure it will be fine but getting things lined out and ready for the upcoming season is a little daunting to begin with. I feel like I have a good jump on things though and I’ll get it all ironed out by the first weekend in June when we start-up.

That is why I got busier than normal. I all of a sudden have a summer market season to prepare for. I’m pretty excited and I am very much looking forward to the upcoming season.

About littlehawkyarns

I'm a gardener that is trying to provide good food for my family to enjoy. I have two children, two dogs, a husband, four chickens, and four cats. In addition gardening I enjoy handwork such as knitting, crochet, and sewing. I'm in the process of trying to learn tatting and embroidery as well. I am soon adding more critters to the collection since we just got property and I spin yarn.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

