Chickens

With Spring starting tomorrow according to the calendar the feed stores all have the chicks in. I am finding it harder and harder to resist getting three more. I have to resist long enough to make the coop bigger. I just moved them into a sheltered area but the actual coop is still tiny. I need to expand it in order to accommodate three or four more chickens. I also need to make it more secure. The chickens do not stay in and they are getting into my pea seeds that I planted the other day. Not a huge deal at the moment but slightly irritating. It will be a bigger problem if it continues.

So I have some weekend projects. I need to fence the porch off. It is raised up and even with the gate to my garden closed the dogs and chickens can just walk under the porch into the garden. I have a garage door to repair. A torsion spring broke and now the door does not work. If I am going to add chickens I need to make a new nest box, put a better roof on the shed, add some roosts, and enclose it so they don’t freeze out in the winter or get eaten by the predators around.

I know we have coyote, raccoons, opossum, skunk, hawks, and owls. Oh, and the occasional bald eagle. I’m sure there are foxes around and there are badgers too. So far up at my place I have only seen the birds, a badger, and coyotes. In other words it is a dangerous world for chickens. We do have dogs and a cat of ours that helps get rid of rodents and the dogs bark at anything and everything. The dogs are not completely outdoor dogs though and so sleep inside at night. If I ever get my fencing and finances fixed up enough to get other critters like goats or sheep that will have to change and we’ll need a guardian dog that sleeps during the day and roams at night scaring off the other critters.

But, we aren’t there yet. This year is my year to work on the garden and an orchard and get the chickens at a good point for us to have plenty of eggs with an extra dozen once in a while that I can barter with. So I will be working on the chicken situation this weekend. Well, some of the time. I can’t dedicate a whole weekend to it as I am having company and it is my market weekend.

Speaking of my company. I’d better get to crackin’ on my house cleaning since they are to arrive tomorrow evening and with it being Spring/Mud season I have all sorts of dirt everywhere.

About littlehawkyarns

I'm a gardener that is trying to provide good food for my family to enjoy. I have two children, two dogs, a husband, four chickens, and four cats. In addition gardening I enjoy handwork such as knitting, crochet, and sewing. I'm in the process of trying to learn tatting and embroidery as well. I am soon adding more critters to the collection since we just got property and I spin yarn.
This entry was posted in Garden and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

