Spring is Here!

For today. But, I will take it! I am digging beds (not currently of course) and getting ready to plant peas and onions. Wahoo!!! I love the sunshine and the dirt and the lovely smell of fresh turned dirt.

My kids are helping me dig beds with their awesome garden stuff my son got for Christmas from an aunt and uncle. Thank you! Perfect kid sized shovel and wheel barrow that in the last two days has gotten a ton of use. My son volunteered to help clean up the chicken area and put stuff in the compost so he could use his wheelbarrow and today he has done a good portion of the digging for the pea bed. While we were all three digging he said, “This is good family time isn’t Mom?” I whole-heartedly agree my boy.

We also talked about working on getting his school to start a garden. I would love to see his school involved in the farm-to-school program that is gaining a foothold in some areas in the country. Their school lunches are pretty sad right now. It would be great if that could improve.

Let’s see, other news from the homestead. I have applied to be the market manager for our local farmer’s market. This is scary but exciting. I am loving being involved in the local food movement around here. I just hope I can continue to promote it and become more involved as our property evolves. In addition to that I’m going to try to add herbs to my own market booth this year. I’d also like to start selling to our grocery co-op but I’ve got to get myself in gear on getting the plants going.

This summer looks to be a busy season for me. I’m expanding the garden like crazy, going like crazy on my yarn stuff, and my son will be hopefully starting 4-H this year. Oh, and I’m hoping to do the local fiber fair as a vendor. I suppose I should check and see when that registration/application opens up.

For now I’m headed back outside to enjoy this lovely spring day. I hope it is spring-like where you are and you are getting to enjoy some sunshine.

About littlehawkyarns

I'm a gardener that is trying to provide good food for my family to enjoy. I have two children, two dogs, a husband, four chickens, and four cats. In addition gardening I enjoy handwork such as knitting, crochet, and sewing. I'm in the process of trying to learn tatting and embroidery as well. I am soon adding more critters to the collection since we just got property and I spin yarn.
This entry was posted in Garden and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

