Good Morning!

This time change didn’t mess with me too much yesterday, but today is another matter. It is almost 9 a.m. and it does not feel as though it should be. That time change is something I’ll never truly get used to. It means Spring though. As does the mud.

We are actually drying out faster than I expected. I plan on working some beds today if I get a chance. I’m also moving chickens and putting in an umbrella clothes line. For the clothes line I’m recycling an old satellite dish pole. It was here when we moved in and I’ve been wondering what to do with it. Now I know.

The chickens are getting moved for two reasons. Better protection from the wind and to open up my yard. I have 25 acres for goodness sakes. They don’t need to be on top of us. That and I want to be able to minimize their time in my garden here shortly. They have been helping themselves to carrots that are still in the ground from last year. This is fine for now but not once I have seedlings, seeds, and plants in for the season.

I’m moving them just to the back side of one of my fences. There is a little shelter there and I’m moving the fencing with them. My fencing isn’t ideal but until I find money under a rock somewhere it will have to work. Especially since we have had a few things go wrong all of a sudden. It seems as though house repairs always come in bundles. We have a relay out on the furnace and we had a garage door torsion spring break. And our drive needs a couple of loads of gravel and some grading. *sigh* It is always something. So we work on the little things we can do. I can move the chickens, put in the clothes line, I pulled the spring and I’ll get another in the next week or so, and We are on the hunt for a part for the furnace. This summer will be porch repairs (replacement?) as well. Our back porch was not built well and it is trying to fall apart to the point of becoming unsafe. I really want to add a glass room on instead but we’ll see how finances and scrounging goes.

As the feeling of spring increases I’m realizing the to-do list just keeps growing. The mower needs pulled out and serviced. Garden tools need oiled, sharpened, and repaired for the season. More seeds need starting. My others are starting to pop up. Onions, basil, and thyme are starting to burst through the soil. I’ll be starting some more over the next couple of weeks. I’m realizing that I may have to get a few more seed cells for my tomatoes and melons. Maybe. I’ll have to check again. I will certainly need more seed starting soil.

About littlehawkyarns

I'm a gardener that is trying to provide good food for my family to enjoy. I have two children, two dogs, a husband, four chickens, and four cats. In addition gardening I enjoy handwork such as knitting, crochet, and sewing. I'm in the process of trying to learn tatting and embroidery as well. I am soon adding more critters to the collection since we just got property and I spin yarn.
This entry was posted in Garden and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

