Winter Storm

I should be planting some starts. I am not. For some reason I don’t have a ton of motivation. Hmmm… Wonder where I can find that?

Today has been stormy and grey all day. Now the wind is moving in and the temperatures are falling. I feel bad for the chickens but they have their heat lamp, little coop surrounded by straw bales, and I gave them some extra plywood windbreaks yesterday. It is cold enough though that their heated waterer is just barely keeping up. The dogs and cat are fine as they are in and out and while it is this cold, mostly in.

The storm is supposed to move on tomorrow and by Tuesday we should be back up well above freezing with just a little chance of snow during the nights. We didn’t even get all that much snow. What we are facing is a thermostat that is acting up and a wood pile that is down to the last few pieces. Oops. Tomorrow we’ll be going to town to see what we can manage in the way of thermostat repairs. Someday things will run a bit smoother.

It could certainly be worse. I’m just thankful we have space heaters if we need to, a few dead trees we could cut if we need to, and lots of blankets. It isn’t so bad. Just inconvenient. At least Spring is right around the corner even if I know we can get snow through May no problem. The weather is moving in the right direction for life to get a bit easier though.

Now that I see a clock I’d best get a move on so we can get dinner going. Warm soup kind of day.

About littlehawkyarns

I'm a gardener that is trying to provide good food for my family to enjoy. I have two children, two dogs, a husband, four chickens, and four cats. In addition gardening I enjoy handwork such as knitting, crochet, and sewing. I'm in the process of trying to learn tatting and embroidery as well. I am soon adding more critters to the collection since we just got property and I spin yarn.
This entry was posted in Family and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

