A Skin Care Recipe

This last summer I grew Calendula in my garden. When the flowers were at the height of their bloom I picked a bunch and put them in a jar, and then covered them in olive oil. I set that in the back of my pantry and pretty much forgot about them until about a month ago. My three-year-old has incredibly dry skin and a few patches of eczema that reminded me of the oil covered flowers. I thought I would try to make a salve for her so here is what I did:

Recipe:
1 smallish jar of Calendula flowers covered in olive oil, probably around a half pint as I think it was a recycled salsa jar
1 partial honeycomb that was buried in the back of my pantry (apparently I can’t eat a whole one by myself and my family wasn’t all that impressed with honeycomb)
Coconut oil
dried Calendula petals (about 10 flowers worth)

I strained out the flowers and melted everything together in a sauce pan over a medium heat. I didn’t measure the coconut oil, but probably used around a cup or so. Once everything was thoroughly melted together I added the dried petals and then poured the mixture into several glass jars. I believe it ended up going into two 4 oz. jelly jars, 1 pint jar, and back into the recycled salsa jar. Then I set them aside to cool completely.

A couple of things I would have changed: I would have liked to have had straight beeswax as opposed to the comb but the honey is antibacterial and good for skin so not a big problem. I maybe won’t add petals at the end as they can be kind of a pain as you spread it on the skin. Not painful just stick to the skin and get in the way.

Otherwise this mix seems to work very nicely on helping my three-year-olds skin. So long as I remember to actually apply it. Or can chase her down to get it on. She loves a good “run from Mom” moment.

Disclaimer: This is not to be considered any sort of cure, medical advice or whatever else. I’m just sharing an experiment I tried and seems to be working for our family.

About littlehawkyarns

I'm a gardener that is trying to provide good food for my family to enjoy. I have two children, two dogs, a husband, four chickens, and four cats. In addition gardening I enjoy handwork such as knitting, crochet, and sewing. I'm in the process of trying to learn tatting and embroidery as well. I am soon adding more critters to the collection since we just got property and I spin yarn.
This entry was posted in Family, Garden and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

