Garden Planning

Despite the fact that it is snowing again I have been planning my garden and buying seeds and plants. I have a few tiny lettuce plants along with a few radishes. I’m hoping to at least have a salad or two sometime next month. In my planning I ran across this other blog called The Well Fed Homestead. She has a great post on how much to plant for each person here. Her numbers are for one person for one year. Of course each family’s numbers need adjusted.

My family would not eat a year’s worth of beets listed. Ha! We might eat that many beets in two or three years but not one. We eat beets, but not many. Peas, onions, and tomatoes are much higher on our list. Her list is a good starting point though. I think for things that I haven’t planted in large quantities before this list is best. I’ve tried a few things here and there that I have like but haven’t been sure about how much to plant if I wanted more. At least now I have an idea.

About littlehawkyarns

I'm a gardener that is trying to provide good food for my family to enjoy. I have two children, two dogs, a husband, four chickens, and four cats. In addition gardening I enjoy handwork such as knitting, crochet, and sewing. I'm in the process of trying to learn tatting and embroidery as well. I am soon adding more critters to the collection since we just got property and I spin yarn.
This entry was posted in Garden and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

