Warming Trend

We warmed all of a sudden. All the snow is gone and we’ve been reaching into the 50’s during the day. This means I’ve been working on moving the chickens. They are not moved yet but my corner posts went in yesterday and I ripped out a bunch of random boards from the little shelter. I’m not sure what the folks that had it were doing but I’ll be ripping most of it apart and putting it back together in a configuration that is going to work for me. I’ll be out there later today again.

It is already time to start my seeds. Yikes! At least my onions and celery. I’m not sure where I’m going to put the seed flats but I’ll find a spot. I should clean up the garage by the window there. I am not entirely sure though since I had to repair my garage door this morning. No idea what happened but I think maybe the wind did some damage. Lots of loose and/or missing bolts. Looks like I’d better start stashing some money to replace the dang thing. I’m not thrilled with that but some things aren’t particularly optional. With us being in this area with lovely hail storms, a garage is not really an option.

So we have chicken coop moving, garage repairs, garden starting, garden tools to repair and sharpen, and a general all around busy season starting. I’m looking forward to it and yet I’m not. It isn’t so long ago that I was buried in the harvest and I haven’t forgotten that yet. I am looking forward to shopping less at the grocery store though. Always two sides to the coin.

I’d better get myself outside now that I have some good weather. I know being only February that we’re likely to have several more winter storms before things truly warm up for good.

About littlehawkyarns

I'm a gardener that is trying to provide good food for my family to enjoy. I have two children, two dogs, a husband, four chickens, and four cats. In addition gardening I enjoy handwork such as knitting, crochet, and sewing. I'm in the process of trying to learn tatting and embroidery as well. I am soon adding more critters to the collection since we just got property and I spin yarn.
This entry was posted in Garden and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

