February Sunshine

What a beautiful gold sunshine that comes in my window first thing! It is cold. Last I checked last night we were at -8 degrees F. Not too bad, although I don’t know what our coldest was. We’ve warmed nicely now that it is an hour passed sunrise. We are up to 0 F. Down right toasty compared to the last several days. The weatherman says we are supposed to get well above freezing today. I think it will be a good day to take my youngest outside to play in the snow and work on the shed where I want to move my chickens. I think I’m going to do a few modifications to it so I can clean it easily. Their house needs cleaned badly. With all our cold weather all of their deposits have been in the coop. It is getting smelly and piled high in there. If it warms like it is supposed to, today will be good for getting that cleaned up.

Now that we are into mid-February I can tell the days are getting just a tad longer. The angle of the sun is changing ever so slightly and we are creeping toward Spring. We will get a few more snow storms I hope. We need the moisture. I will seldom complain about getting moisture for the Earth. We need good snow to help build up the reservoirs and aquifers for the Summer drain. If they aren’t replenished we have major issues during the Summer and we don’t get the harvests we need.

This week will be a full-blown pantry assessment I believe. My son has a bunch of days off from school for a Winter Break so I’ll have a helping hand. He is a very good helper. At 5 years-old he still enjoys helping me and is old enough that his help really is help now. I asked him on Sunday if he wanted to play in his room or do laundry. He and his little sister washed and dried two loads of laundry. Yes, I still had to fold but I’ll take any help I get with that never-ending job.

I’m hoping he’ll be as excited about the pantry job. I think I want to move most of my pantry down into the basement. It is cooler at the top of the stairs than in the rest of the house but it still isn’t as cool as the actual basement. Plus, if I move everything I can clean the shelves, jars, cans, and boxes and get a good count of what is there. I think we have officially broken into the last canned fruit. Although the canning of pears and peaches is kind of a pain to do what with peeling them it is well worth it to have that delicious bit of Summer in a jar in the middle of January.

I’m off to locate one more cup of coffee and lay out my plan for the day. I suppose I should do my husband and I’s laundry now that I talked the kids into doing theirs.

About littlehawkyarns

I'm a gardener that is trying to provide good food for my family to enjoy. I have two children, two dogs, a husband, four chickens, and four cats. In addition gardening I enjoy handwork such as knitting, crochet, and sewing. I'm in the process of trying to learn tatting and embroidery as well. I am soon adding more critters to the collection since we just got property and I spin yarn.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

