Weather Report

It is snowing! All day. It started yesterday evening and has been snowing off and on ever since. It makes me happy. Moisture for the coming Summer. This is a good thing. Yes, driving in it and shoveling it can be tedious but otherwise I do enjoy the snow. It covers everything with a beautiful white blanket that I don’t have to worry about how it is going to have to get cleaned.

Now that we are part way through February I’ll be starting seeds soon. Well, actually I’ve already got some lettuce, herbs, and radishes going. It was the last of my lettuce seed though so I’m going to have to get some more seed. I am actually out of a few seeds this year. Lettuce, kale, peas (almost), carrots, and a few others that I can’t remember off the top of my head. I have a list written down somewhere. I’ll be trying to get the majority of my seeds from a local seed farmer but I know a few I’m going to have to order. Lovage for example. I want to put some in but no one grows it that I can find. I’ll be ordering those seeds.

Now that we are getting serious about putting an orchard in I’m exploring the idea of keeping bees. I know very little about them other than they make honey and live in colonies. I’m hoping to get with a couple of beekeepers around here and see if I can work with them a day or two before I ever order bees or hives. I want to see what it entails and if I can stay nice and calm around that many bees. When I see things about 60,000 bees in a colony that seems like an awfully large number. I know I’m not allergic to them so that won’t be a problem for me. I love honey and go through a ton of it.

The trouble is always the same as with any new animal or activity. What to do with the supplies for it? Where do you work? What about equipment to process the honey? I have the same troubles with my seeds, wool, and garden tools. One house with a garage will only hold so much.

Despite enjoying the snow and the Winter I am looking forward to Spring. Life does get easier in many ways then. Fuel bills of all kinds drop off and I don’t have to have electric cords running out to my chicken coop. It really does not do much for the attractiveness of my winter garden to have electric cords strung across the yard. Better than not having chickens though. They need their water and their heat lamp. Although they wouldn’t need it as much if I would have moved them to the three-sided shed that blocks the wind a lot better than a couple of little pine trees. Now I get to wait until the ground has thawed. No way can I pound anchor stakes into the ground right now. Nor can I get the current anchors out of the ground.

Yes, I need anchors for the chicken coop. That happens when we get gusting of 60 mph on a fairly regular basis. That wind is a reason I am not even considering a little light greenhouse. Any greenhouse I have will have to be tornado and hail resistant. Just the nature of my location. I’ll be on the hunt for old pallets and old windows this summer so I can put I greenhouse in. Also, my main plan this year, besides the orchard, is to put in a better clothesline. I want an umbrella one that will be by the back porch so I can stand on the porch and hang clothes. Put all the wind and sun we get to good use.

About littlehawkyarns

I'm a gardener that is trying to provide good food for my family to enjoy. I have two children, two dogs, a husband, four chickens, and four cats. In addition gardening I enjoy handwork such as knitting, crochet, and sewing. I'm in the process of trying to learn tatting and embroidery as well. I am soon adding more critters to the collection since we just got property and I spin yarn.
This entry was posted in Garden and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

