Goofy Chickens

This morning looking out my window into the back yard I realized my chickens aren’t hopping the fence. At least the Buff Orpington, Goldie, isn’t. She very carefully squeezed herself through a wide spot in the wire. I just have a basic garden fence that has holes that are roughly 6 inches tall and probably 2-3 inches wide. The fence has seen better days in some areas so some of the holes are bigger than that. Apparently big enough for a smallish medium-sized chicken to squeeze through.

In addition to them squeezing through fences I have one Rhode Island that always seems to get separated from the other two. I’m not sure how she does it but before too long I’ll hear one of them just a squawking away and it is that silly bird all by herself and the others are nowhere to be seen. They’ve usually ended up on the other side of the house or something.

I’ve never been very fond of chickens in any form so I’m finding all of this surprising me in how much I get a kick out of watching them. I was thinking yesterday while the wind was howling and blowing them all over the place that they look like a bunch of gals from the old days that have their petticoats blowing all over the place. They probably feel about like that too.

We actually have a reprieve from the wind today. I really don’t even see trees moving. The computer says we are sitting about 16 degrees though. That means my house is probably more like 6 degrees. We always seem to be about 10 degrees cooler than the computer states. I think because we are on a North slope. Grey and cloudy but no wind. I’ll take it! It makes the cold so much more tolerable when those winds aren’t forcing the cold into every little nook and cranny.

Enjoy your day and stay warm.

About littlehawkyarns

I'm a gardener that is trying to provide good food for my family to enjoy. I have two children, two dogs, a husband, four chickens, and four cats. In addition gardening I enjoy handwork such as knitting, crochet, and sewing. I'm in the process of trying to learn tatting and embroidery as well. I am soon adding more critters to the collection since we just got property and I spin yarn.
This entry was posted in Garden, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

