Garden Planning or is it Dreaming?

I have ordered the first round of garden stuff.  Strawberry plants (50) and sweet Italian peppers (5).  So, now they will be joining the apple trees that will be getting shipped in the spring.  Yippee!  I’ve had the chickens in the main garden and they have been scratching their little legs off in what is to become the strawberry bed.  I have it mulched with straw and apparently that is hiding all sorts of good chicken food.  They are doing a wonderful job of digging in and cleaning up along with making little deposits of fertilizer.  It makes me very happy we got chickens.

Besides the garden contributions they are giving me lots of eggs.  I don’t really have enough to sell but too many for us to eat in a timely fashion.  Part of it is that we just don’t eat that many eggs during the week.  Weekends we cook big breakfasts and go through plenty of eggs then. 

In basic homestead development I was able to get another bed border done and the wood chips and chicken poop dug in the other day.  We had around 60 degree F weather and it was a perfect day to be out working in the garden.  I also ended up digging in some pine needles that came from the chicken area.  I figure it can’t hurt since we have pretty alkaline soil around here.  I will also be digging in some oyster shell this year.  I just picked up a pile for the chickens but knowing I had some blossom end rot last summer I figure the shells will do my soil some good.  I’m thinking I may not even dig it in.  Just sprinkle and let the chickens take what they want from the beds and leave the rest for my garden soil.  This way I don’t have to do as much work with it.

I am hoping to put in five more beds and border another this spring.  Although that may end up only being four beds.  One area all my critters like to dig, especially my kids.  I learned long ago that there really is no reason to battle everyone for one little garden section.  It just isn’t worth it.

As I am in the dreaming stages of the garden I am trying to plan for the summer farmer’s market.  I am considering taking the manager position and I am considering adding herbs to my market booth to go along with my yarns.  My mind is going a mile-a-minute with all of this.  No decisions will be made for a while yet on any of the subjects.  Just thoughts to be mulled over and researched at this point.

About littlehawkyarns

I'm a gardener that is trying to provide good food for my family to enjoy. I have two children, two dogs, a husband, four chickens, and four cats. In addition gardening I enjoy handwork such as knitting, crochet, and sewing. I'm in the process of trying to learn tatting and embroidery as well. I am soon adding more critters to the collection since we just got property and I spin yarn.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Garden Planning or is it Dreaming?

  1. Julie says:

    I’m in the same boat with eggs: although I sell a dozen or so a week to coworkers, we still get more than we can use since we don’t eat them for breakfast during the week. One way we use up eggs is a weekly “egg casserole” for supper. It does double duty in using up the extra eggs and produce from the garden that we froze (sweet and hot peppers and pesto), dehydrated (Sungold cherry tomatoes), store in the rootcellar (onions and garlic), and cover in the garden (kale). After chopping and sauteeing the veggies, we throw in the re-hydrated tomatoes and toss in local goat cheese we get at the farmers’ market, add the lightly beaten eggs, and then swirl in the pesto. Baked at 350 for 30 minutes, and it is a great summer-tasting dish to have for supper. The leftovers are excellent cold even.

    • Yummy. That casserole sounds great. We’ve done a few here and there. We also made a cake for my daughter’s birthday that between the cake and frosting took 9 eggs. But we can’t do cakes like that all the time or we’d be bigger butter balls than we already are. 🙂 I want to try to figure out some custards too. I love having the eggs though. Not much better than an egg that is only a few hours old.

  2. Oh my what fun! Absolutely YES! you must include a garden bed for herbs… and take them to market too! 🙂

Leave a Reply

