Reading

I’m finally getting around to reading Omnivore’s Dilemma by Michael Pollan. You would think that I have been gardening long enough at this point that I would have read some of these type books. My problem is that the more popular a book gets, the less I am inclined to read it. I don’t care if it is fiction or non-fiction. I’d also read one other of his books that I wasn’t thrilled with. It was also a gardening book and at the moment I can’t remember the title. At any rate that book came across as he was pompous and was just trying to impress the reader with all his big words. Omnivore’s Dilemma so far has been much more read-able. I’m about a third of the way through it. So far I’m impressed by the fact that the author actually went to the farms and did his research. What I’m not sure of yet is whether or not there was a real point to the book or if it was basically just a research paper/article.

Maybe I’m being a harsher critic than need be. I just haven’t figured out why he wrote the book yet. I’m hoping it will come as I read further. It is an interesting read and a bit frightening to think about how far removed from our food we have become. It is even more interesting to me now that I have moved to the outskirts of the corn belt and to a state that is known for its corn production. It is things like this book that convince me more and more that we need to try to be more involved in our own food production as much as possible.

I’ll have to read more and post again as to what I think once I’ve read the whole book. I am reserving final judgment for that time. I hope I end up liking it better than the last book of his.

About littlehawkyarns

I'm a gardener that is trying to provide good food for my family to enjoy. I have two children, two dogs, a husband, four chickens, and four cats. In addition gardening I enjoy handwork such as knitting, crochet, and sewing. I'm in the process of trying to learn tatting and embroidery as well. I am soon adding more critters to the collection since we just got property and I spin yarn.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

