Welcome to Winter

I am fascinated by the complaining about the weather. Yes, it is cold. Yes, it is breaking records. But get this, we just barely moved into what is officially known as Winter. So that means that if you live in the northern hemisphere, especially in the northern part of that hemisphere you are going to get cold weather, wind, snow, and ice. I’m not sure why this is surprising everyone in the media. The worst is that it seems to catch them by surprise every. Single. Year. Why? I understand reporting about the record-breaking cold. But then you have all the other hype. Have we really moved so far away from the land and the elements that we need to post news stories about the fact that mittens are warmer than gloves? Yes, I saw that as part of a headline. I suppose I’m being a tad callused because I want to shout at my computer that, “It is Winter people!” I don’t know why it bothers me either. Just one of those things that annoys me about society. I think mostly it is media that bothers me in general. They need a good story so they report the big scares and the hype.

Anyway, off my little rant and/or soapbox… We’ve been cold as well but we only had one night of really cold. Not 4-5 days like just before Christmas. At least we didn’t get the wind like the weatherman called for. We got that last night. Luckily when our wind hit we were much warmer. I’m just happy my chickens didn’t blow away because it was howling last night. So far I’ve managed to collect eggs before they have frozen. Except for one. They kind of explode. The cat got a treat of that one once it thawed.

I was nervous about getting chickens but I’m surprised by how much I enjoy them. I’m not sure how I’ll feel about losing one as is bound to happen at some point. I hate to lose any critter I am in charge of. I feel like I have let them down if that happens. I take precautions such as keeping them fenced away from my dogs and their coop gets locked up at night so they aren’t easy pickin’s for predators. They have a large area to run and are very happy about all the stuff to scratch and peck at. I want to get some fence material that is easier to move so I can have them scratch and clean up my garden beds. I didn’t get a whole lot of that done this last Fall. I’m hoping to be better about that this year.

I have a rough plan for the garden but I always seem to run out of room. I’m wondering how to work it out so I can utilize our corral area for some of the bigger crops like pumpkins and corn. If I put them out there I have to make sure I plant enough to withstand some losses from rabbits and deer. I have deer back there on a pretty regular basis despite the dogs, so I have no doubt if I plant a big ol’ pile of food they’ll think they have found deer heaven. Although, as I look out my window that back area might make a pretty great garden. It would even have a shed. I’ve been thinking about using it for animals but I may change my mind on that. Something that is going to need some more thought.

About littlehawkyarns

I'm a gardener that is trying to provide good food for my family to enjoy. I have two children, two dogs, a husband, four chickens, and four cats. In addition gardening I enjoy handwork such as knitting, crochet, and sewing. I'm in the process of trying to learn tatting and embroidery as well. I am soon adding more critters to the collection since we just got property and I spin yarn.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

