Endings and Beginnings and Goals for 2014

Tomorrow is the end of the year. I can’t believe 2013 is coming to a close. This year has flown by. It is hard to imagine now that last year at this time we were still in our awful rental that we were desperate to get out of. Thank goodness we found our little homestead. We have made some good progress here. Chickens are in and laying, we have a new pup for a watch dog, and we have our cat that is mouse patrol. My husband fixed up the basement into a home theater and I got the garden laid out and started. We installed a wood stove to help with the power bill and as insurance against the occasional power outage. Not bad progress for less than a year of being here.

We have some goals for the upcoming year. One of which is being made possible by my husband’s sister and her husband. They got us some apple trees for Christmas! How cool is that?! I’m excited to get the orchard started. I know it will be a few years before we get fruit but each year will be one step closer to our goal. Hopefully by the time my kids are teenagers and eating even more than they do now we can afford to feed them because of having our own food supply.

Homestead Goals for 2014:

-possibly expand chicken facilities and numbers
-look into getting a couple of goats
-put more herbs into the garden
-get the orchard established
-add trees and bushes for windbreaks and food supplies
-weed control! This is a biggie since we have a ton of tumbleweeds, Russian thistle, spurge, and who knows what else?
-re-vamp compost to make it more puppy proof
-add flowers to our landscape
-talk to our local bee man about keeping some hives up here
-repair and/or re-do our back porch with the possibility of turning it into a covered porch with a greenhouse
-treat the front porch to prevent rot
-install another rain barrel and put spigot into the one I have
-new wheels for the lawn mower
-fix driveway drainage issues
-discuss/save up for a new pre-fab barn that could be a barn and/or a wool house
-explore the possibility of adding a second garage door opener
-get new tires on the husband’s car
-if we do goats probably install an electric fence
-layout small area for my son’s market garden

I do love the start of the new year. It is a fresh start. It is almost as good as the beginning of the school year. I enjoy taking the time to reflect on what has worked over the last year and the changes that need made. Off to see about the year-end stuff I don’t care for as much (such as taxes).

About littlehawkyarns

I'm a gardener that is trying to provide good food for my family to enjoy. I have two children, two dogs, a husband, four chickens, and four cats. In addition gardening I enjoy handwork such as knitting, crochet, and sewing. I'm in the process of trying to learn tatting and embroidery as well. I am soon adding more critters to the collection since we just got property and I spin yarn.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

