Goofy Weather

December 17th and we are all of a sudden in the mid-50s. What the heck?! We went from -20 something to 53 degrees F today according to my computer. I don’t mind the warm up but I’m so confused. I’m sure anything in the garden is too.

I’m beginning to wonder if I’ll ever get eggs from these chickens of mine. I do have to remember that they were just old enough to start laying by Thanksgiving and then we got hammered with that crazy cold snap and of course our days are much shorter now. In reality I suppose it isn’t too surprising they aren’t laying. They’ve been a bit out of whack since their stint in the garage too. The first couple of nights they weren’t roosting in the coop. I guess they figured they just didn’t have to like the didn’t need to in the garage. They are back to their normal routine now though.

As I’m looking outside it appears to be windy but beautiful so I think I will test the temperature. If it is nice I think I’ll sit and spin for a while on the back porch. No sense in letting a beautiful day go to waste.

About littlehawkyarns

I'm a gardener that is trying to provide good food for my family to enjoy. I have two children, two dogs, a husband, four chickens, and four cats. In addition gardening I enjoy handwork such as knitting, crochet, and sewing. I'm in the process of trying to learn tatting and embroidery as well. I am soon adding more critters to the collection since we just got property and I spin yarn.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

