Winter Weather Break

I’m going to guess that my taters, carrots, and parsnips are goners.  I know the lettuce and Brussels sprouts are.  We’ve had such a cold snap that I doubt much of anything has helped.  Today was our first day of above zero for sure and we might have even made it to around the freezing mark of 32 degrees. For just a minute.  Not long and now the sun is going down and the temperatures will dip again.  This is the first day I haven’t had to thaw the chickens’ water three or four times a day, and they are in the garage.  I’ve even had the dogs stay out a little longer than just long enough to do their business.  We have all been getting a little cabin feverish.  I’m hoping tomorrow I can move the chickens back to their coop where they have a bit more room and a lot more entertainment.  Plus, they are supposed to make a mess out there.  My garage is looking and smelling like a zoo.

I suppose I’d better get dinner going.  I’ve got evening chores mostly done other than that.  Critters will all need one more check for the evening after supper though.

About littlehawkyarns

I'm a gardener that is trying to provide good food for my family to enjoy. I have two children, two dogs, a husband, four chickens, and four cats. In addition gardening I enjoy handwork such as knitting, crochet, and sewing. I'm in the process of trying to learn tatting and embroidery as well. I am soon adding more critters to the collection since we just got property and I spin yarn.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

