We Have Cold Weather

So cold that I moved my chickens into my garage last night. We were supposed to get wind chills of -30 to -50 F. I was having trouble keeping their water thawed while they were out in their little coop, even with a heat lamp. When I saw the weather warnings I said, “Bag it,” and I moved them in. Even in the garage their water froze. My house saw a solid -28 without the wind as of about 0630 this morning. The airport/weather station was reporting -15F with a wind chill of -30F. I wonder what our wind chill was… Our sliding door froze closed with the bit of condensation and then ice we got.

Chickens in the garage

Chickens in the garage

It has turned into a beautiful morning though. Still around -20 F but nice and sunny. These are my favorite kind of days. Now if I can just keep the critter water thawed. Oh, and I have to take our pup with me when I leave the house. I can’t leave her outside with this cold and I can’t trust her not to chew or poop on things in the house or garage. Because of that lack of trust she goes with me. The old dog is fine inside and has been for years so I can leave him home. Dang puppies. Good thing she is a sweetheart.

Enjoy your beautiful day. At least I hope it is where you are.

About littlehawkyarns

I'm a gardener that is trying to provide good food for my family to enjoy. I have two children, two dogs, a husband, four chickens, and four cats. In addition gardening I enjoy handwork such as knitting, crochet, and sewing. I'm in the process of trying to learn tatting and embroidery as well. I am soon adding more critters to the collection since we just got property and I spin yarn.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

