Weather Again

After our last round of cold we warmed nicely. Enough that I could dig some potatoes, carrots, and parsnips for the Thanksgiving holiday. It looks to have nailed most of my lettuce though. I’m not terribly surprised but just a little disappointed. I have had one potato freeze so far. Not bad considering they are not mulched at all.

It is snowing this morning again. I’m not even really sure how much we are supposed to get. Before it gets too much further I’ll have to go out and freshen the chicken water and make sure they have plenty of food along with some shelter from the wind. They have shelter but I want to make sure it is enough. Their coop needs some cleaning up but somehow I just haven’t gotten to it. I also have a pallet to install as a gate to my compost that I haven’t gotten to. Outside chores just haven’t been as much fun with the cold and snow. Imagine that.

At least the compost isn’t really a big deal. The only reason I’m putting a gate up is to keep the pup out. She isn’t really hurting anything. Just grossing me out. The chickens need some attention but not a ton. A few minutes later this morning should do the trick. The only part that worries me is the cold we are supposed to get after the snow. I’ll probably put the heat lamp back in later when I’m out there. I don’t like to leave it all the time but when it is well below zero, like it is supposed to get, I fire that thing up and at least take the worst of the chill off.

I’m enjoying my little bit of garden break too. I’ve been making some notes regarding what we want for next year. I certainly see more onions, potatoes, carrots, and tomatoes in our future. These are our family’s favorite things to cook with and eat. I will add a lot more herbs, some strawberries, and some peppers. I think we’ll even shoot for some pumpkins for the kids. I’m still on the fence about corn. The once or twice I’ve tried corn it hasn’t done well. Maybe living in corn country that will change.

I keep bouncing back and forth between numbers of apples, pears, and plums to put in as well. I know I want 10 trees with the majority being apple. I need hearty varieties and would prefer they start producing as soon as possible. Between my son and husband we can easily go through about 10 pounds of apples a week. I need trees. I’m realizing I probably should have dug holes for those trees earlier so they would be ready this spring. Maybe if we have another thaw I’ll dig a couple. Of course I need to figure out which trees I’m getting and from which nursery.

I had better get those chores done before any more snow comes down. I’m sure the chickens are back in their coop. They sure don’t like snow.

About littlehawkyarns

I'm a gardener that is trying to provide good food for my family to enjoy. I have two children, two dogs, a husband, four chickens, and four cats. In addition gardening I enjoy handwork such as knitting, crochet, and sewing. I'm in the process of trying to learn tatting and embroidery as well. I am soon adding more critters to the collection since we just got property and I spin yarn.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

