Cold

We went from a balmy 60 degrees F on Wednesday to snow on Thursday to about -10 degrees F on Friday morning. I think it has warmed up to about 5 degrees. At least according to my little weather widget on my computer. My house says colder. Maybe it just had the temperature drop from such a cold Friday so it didn’t stay as warm at night.

This new place of ours is a blessing. Who ever built the place insulated well. I can’t thank them enough. We’ve never lived in a well insulated house. We’ve always lived in old (like 100 years-old) farm houses that really had no insulation to speak of. We can’t say that anymore. Usually my house stays right about 70 degrees without much effort or heat. We have several South facing windows that help immensely in the winter. In fact they sometimes help too much and we get too hot, even in the winter, and have to close the curtains and let the fire die. We didn’t have that problem yesterday.

Not a whole lot else going on around here. I’ve broken down and added the heat lamp to the chickens’ area since it has been so cold. It has added several trips a day out to the coop to swap waters for them as theirs keeps freezing up. I don’t have power out there until yesterday so I don’t have heated water. I may move the dog’s heated water bowl out there this morning though. We shall see. I don’t like having cords laid out especially with snow and chewing puppies.

Yesterday we lost one of the kittens. I’m not sure if the dog killed him or was just cleaning up after the package guy that maybe hit him with the truck. Either way I caught the dog eating him. It was a sad day since he is my son’s kitten that wasn’t even a year old yet. To make matters worse he was one of the sweetest cats I’ve ever known. I hate when a critter dies. It makes me sad and angry that I wasn’t able to stop it. Especially when they are an animal in my care.

Being the stay-at-home parent means I get to deal with some “interesting” things around the place. I can’t remember if I said anything on here or not but over the summer I came face-to-face with a mangy coyote in one of our sheds. Luckily it went away, but it was not a comfortable feeling to wonder what that dead critter is and look to investigate only to realize that ugly critter less than four feet away is looking back at you. Talk about the heebie-jeebies. The part I disliked the most was that I only had a pitchfork with which to defend myself, my critters, and my kids. I couldn’t even put the thing down out of mercy. I had a biologist that was going to come and take care of it but that was until it disappeared. I haven’t seen it since luckily.

There are certainly some not-so-nice things about living in the country. The good out weighs the bad which is why we live here, but it doesn’t make it any easier to deal with.

About littlehawkyarns

I'm a gardener that is trying to provide good food for my family to enjoy. I have two children, two dogs, a husband, four chickens, and four cats. In addition gardening I enjoy handwork such as knitting, crochet, and sewing. I'm in the process of trying to learn tatting and embroidery as well. I am soon adding more critters to the collection since we just got property and I spin yarn.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

