Plans

With the garden season wrapped up (for the most part) and Christmas and the new year approaching my thoughts are turning to plans for our family and homestead. I’ve been busy making notes about the garden. What worked, what didn’t, what I want to change or add. The same is happening with our finances and the rest of the property. I’m looking at all sorts of revamps to things around here.

A few of big goals for our little homestead:

Pay off all the debt we can. Credit debts are always a drain on a budget no matter what size they are.

Buy nothing, if possible, on credit during 2014.

Re-build or repair back porch.

Get goats – This will entail finding/building a gate, re-doing some fence, and negotiating hay storage and purchases along with some storage for basic critter supplies.

Put in an orchard of 10 trees. Most likely 4 apple, 4 pear, and 2 plum trees.

Replace tires on the lawn mower.

Grow at least half of our family’s food. This is a longer term goal but it would be great if we can get mostly there this next year.

Grow a good portion of the feed for chickens and goats. This one may take several years to accomplish but I’d like to get a start.

Start my son’s market garden in conjunction with our family garden.

Put in a good permanent clothesline.

Figure out where I want a greenhouse. Start the search for used doors and windows to facilitate the building of greenhouse.

You can see we have lots of plans. Always plans. Of course there is the saying about best laid plans. 🙂 You never know how it will all shake out. We do our best and make do where we need to.

About littlehawkyarns

I'm a gardener that is trying to provide good food for my family to enjoy. I have two children, two dogs, a husband, four chickens, and four cats. In addition gardening I enjoy handwork such as knitting, crochet, and sewing. I'm in the process of trying to learn tatting and embroidery as well. I am soon adding more critters to the collection since we just got property and I spin yarn.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

