A rant turned revelation.

I’m a tad confused. So many people want the country to eat healthy, organic, sustainable, local, grass-feed, or whatever other buzz word they are using at the time. And yet these very same people sit and say something about how much money you shouldn’t worry about spending on this food. So many times the proponents of organic food seem to think that we should also have to pay through the nose for that food. Now, I am the last to deny that good, organic, healthy food generally costs more to produce. To an extent.

This is my theory. I think it only costs more to produce (especially on any sort of large-scale) because it isn’t highly subsidized by the government. I know on the small-scale backyard size it is much cheaper to produce organic food. Why? No chemicals to add to the soil or plants and those always cost money. Now if I were to actually get certified organic that cost would have to factor in and it would run me out of the business of feeding my family. But, in order to feed my family simple, good food I don’t need to be certified organic.

But back to my point. I read an article recently (a friend posted it on Facebook) and it was about foods we shouldn’t eat anymore. While I agreed with a lot of the points made I had to take issue with a commenter. Isn’t that always the case? Opinions differ. The commenter was complaining that the article was talking a lot about how much money is spent on the food. Their comment was, “I’m a bit disappointed…since when should food and nutrition choices be based on what you can afford? I thought this would be a nutritional article.” Here is where my confusion comes into play. When can a person base their purchases on anything but what they can afford? This person must not be on a very strict budget or else they would not be saying this. If they were on that budget they would very much understand how a person can base their food choices on what they can afford.

This is something that always amazes me about the world. So many people forget that not every single person is at their same level of income. People who have never had to work for minimum wage, have always “had,” and have never known those tough decisions about food, shelter, and basic survival will forever be at a loss as to why “those” people make the decisions they do. I agree that education about healthy foods etc. needs to be more wide-spread. But I think we need to make it accessible to every. Single. Person. Not just those that can afford to eat organic food.

As I’m writing this I’m thinking there needs to be some sort of campaign equal to the marketing of fast-food and pre-packaged food. I really don’t see any way to change a wide-spread culture that has been developed by these marketing campaigns without a similar marketing campaign from the opposite side. Part of that campaign has got to be showing people who one can eat organic food on a budget. It is possible. It may not be possible to eat every single bit of food that way, but we all make compromises. I thought this article showed very much how things like making your own rice side dish would make it cheaper and healthier and therefore more accessible to more people. How is that a bad thing?

Another related rant is the fact that so many people don’t seem to know how to cook. I know. I’m one to talk. It isn’t that I don’t know how, but rather that I really dislike it. But the flip side to that is that I like food and I like good food. So, I cook. I am realizing how little people actually cook food from scratch. Really how little they eat at home. I have a calendar with some healthy tips on it and one of the pieces of advice was to try to eat at least half your meals at home for the week. Really?! If only I could afford to eat half my meals out a week. It makes me realize we are different in that we cook almost every single meal almost every single day at home. Even most of our pizza and movie nights are homemade. No wonder I don’t understand most of society.

I’m not saying it is good or bad just that I don’t understand it. I don’t have regular t.v., I don’t go to town and socialize a lot, and I don’t go out to eat a lot. I think that means for the most part my family and I are on the verge of being hermits and probably considered quite strange by the rest of society. I seem to have achieved my goal of being the kooky artist lady that goes and gives talks to classes, dresses funny, and eats weird foods. I’m over the moon about that. There is a certain freedom in that kooky-ness.

About littlehawkyarns

I'm a gardener that is trying to provide good food for my family to enjoy. I have two children, two dogs, a husband, four chickens, and four cats. In addition gardening I enjoy handwork such as knitting, crochet, and sewing. I'm in the process of trying to learn tatting and embroidery as well. I am soon adding more critters to the collection since we just got property and I spin yarn.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

