Winter prep

We got our wood stove installed today!  What a relief.  When we bought this place last spring we weren’t keen on the fact that it only had electric heat.  Because of our location we have the power go off fairly often.  We are about nine miles from any town and toward the end of an electrical line.   

We immediately started keeping an eye out in the papers for a used stove, knowing we would never be able to afford a new one.  They run close to $1000, or more, just for the stove and then the piping can run that again.  Ugh.  We spotted a small Blaze King that some folks were replacing for a much more reasonable price and we snagged it.  It came with some piping, although we won’t be able to use it as we went with a different size.  We’ll have to sell that. 

We, my husband really, finally got the time this weekend and had some nice weather so he decided to do the install.  He had installed a slate hearth a couple of weeks ago so all he had to do was poke a couple of holes and run the chimney.  He got it all done and sealed up and we lit our first fire tonight.  Hooray!  This kid that grew up with a wood stove feels much more at ease now.  Yes, I still need to have water tucked aside in jugs for when the power goes out as our well pump is electric, but now I don’t have to worry about cooking or keeping the house warm. 

One of these days I think a project will be to have a hand pump and/or some sort of solar back-up for the well pump.  We are exploring options of solar or wind power.  I don’t know how feasible it will be just yet but we are starting our research.  There are lots of random ideas floating around for this place.  I’m not entirely sure how we’ll end up and I’m know we’ll mess up here and there and want to do things differently than we did.  It is that way with any and all projects it seems.

Now with the stove checked off my winter list I feel like we got a biggie out of the way.  I’ve gotten some smaller projects done as well.  We have some firewood (not enough but a good start), the chickens have straw bale insulation, the garlic is planted, new beds are dug in the garden, and we have a pseudo-plan to get goats in the spring.  I still have lots to do in the way of putting the garden tools up for winter.  They all need sharpened and oiled.  The snow shovels need pulled out and the snow plow needs to be put on the mower and the deck pulled off. 

There is always something going on or being added to the to-do list.  It goes with owning property.  It makes me happy.

About littlehawkyarns

I'm a gardener that is trying to provide good food for my family to enjoy. I have two children, two dogs, a husband, four chickens, and four cats. In addition gardening I enjoy handwork such as knitting, crochet, and sewing. I'm in the process of trying to learn tatting and embroidery as well. I am soon adding more critters to the collection since we just got property and I spin yarn.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

