A few things off the to-do list

Yesterday was a perfect Fall day. I decided since the weather was supposed to turn yucky today and tomorrow I would save my inside chores for then. So, I spent yesterday in the garden digging beds and planting garlic. This is the first time in quite a while that I’ve actually gotten garlic in during the Fall. I even have a real bed with rows of it this time. My lettuce has a cover over it, the grapes and asparagus are mulched, and the strawberry bed is mulched. I would like to mulch the new beds as well but I’ll save that for some other day that is half-way nice. I got four new beds put in. I’ve reduced the East bed along where my chickens reside. The way we walk to the gate for the chickens it just made sense to not plant the last eight feet or so of that bed. I’m hoping to get most of my perennials in that side. I have Calendula, sage, carrots, beets, lettuce, collards, parsnips, and lemon balm there now. There were cosmos and zinnias too that should re-seed themselves. This Spring I’d like to add more of my herbs on that side. I see too that it gets a lot more shade this time of year so maybe my mints and that type will go over there.

I should probably mulch my veggies that are still in the ground or dig most of them. I don’t know yet. It is a bit of an experiment. I do know one thing. I won’t be canning carrots again. Yuck! They turned out mushy. It didn’t matter if I hot packed or cold packed them. I much prefer freezing the carrots or digging them fresh.

I have some decisions to make over the winter. I need to figure out the numbers, species, and locations for an orchard. I need to decide what I’m doing with my paths. Mulch or grass? My main paths are grass but I think I may mulch the paths in between beds so I can rotate path locations through the years. I also need to figure out what is going to go where. I know my tomatoes are getting moved as are the potatoes. I need to at least double the number of onions that go in. I’m also trying to figure out what other things I want to plant. It is nice to have all winter to do that though.

We still have yet to finish installing our wood stove. This last week when it was nice my husband ended up getting sick so we didn’t get a lot done around the house. Such as life. We’ll get going on it again when he feels better. I’m leaving the planning to him. I’m no good at planning that kind of thing and he’ll plan it to the nth degree and have three different back-up plans. I don’t know how he does it. I don’t have that kind of discipline.

The to-do list is still long (rather it never ends) but at least I have the beds dug and the garlic planted. I went on walk-about yesterday too. It is looking more like we’ll need to get goats in here for weed patrol before we can get any sort of pasture grass going. So I think we’ll be in the market for some fiber goats next spring. We shall see.

About littlehawkyarns

I'm a gardener that is trying to provide good food for my family to enjoy. I have two children, two dogs, a husband, four chickens, and four cats. In addition gardening I enjoy handwork such as knitting, crochet, and sewing. I'm in the process of trying to learn tatting and embroidery as well. I am soon adding more critters to the collection since we just got property and I spin yarn.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

