Two weeks of weird weather

The last two weeks have been strange for weather here. We had about 6 inches of snow on Friday the 4th. It shut down roads and schools all over the place. We weren’t even hit as hard as the guys to the north of us. They got something like 48 inches of snow on top of about 2 inches of rain. What a mess! To say the least there are some hard times up there now since they lost a lot of livestock. Many folks have covered this topic but I will say this. The weather was not expected. My mom and I were talking about it and we don’t even plan on the first snow to really stick or accumulate in any way until Halloween. That is in the high country at 6200 feet above sea level. This is the first part of October and these poor guys are getting slammed with 48 inches in a 24 hour period. It makes me wonder what this winter is going to bring.

Since then we’ve been back up to the mid-70s at my place and back down with over 2 inches of rain on Friday the 11th. Our soil has so much fine clay that it just turns to greasy gumbo when it gets wet. It is such a pain to drive on. We had power go out that morning as well since a pole was blown down by the 60 mph winds we had that morning. Now last night we got hammered with another thunderstorm that dumped a bunch of rain on us and sounds like it hailed on other folks around the area. At least it was relatively small hail. Only pea and dime sized. I never thought I would say only pea or dime sized hail. This is an area that pretty regularly gets quarter and half-dollar sized hail though and can get golf ball or even baseball sized stuff once in a while.

I believe now the weatherman is predicting snow for this next weekend. I sure am glad we got some yard and garden clean up done yesterday. It was beautiful yesterday. Windy but the sun was out and it was dry. I got the last of my tomatoes pulled and those two beds edged and mulched. It is nice to see the garden starting to take shape. Season one is in the books and it was a productive one despite plenty of neglect. I’m getting huge sweet carrots despite the compacted soil and the fact that I never did really get around to thinning them. My collards came back after the aphids decimated them. So did the kale. My lettuce self-seeded a round for the Fall so now I just need to give it some protection so we can have salads.

We threw in some potatoes in a very haphazard way and ignored them all summer. They had some sort of blight or bug come through and kill the tops but we seem to still be getting an okay harvest. I have got to be the world’s laziest potato grower as I have never hilled my potatoes or done anything other than toss them into the grown and leave them until September or October. Several times I have grown potatoes in my compost by accident and just harvested when I turned the compost in the Fall. I guess I don’t really worry about potatoes because I’m the only one who really enjoys eating them with any sort of regularity. The rest of my family doesn’t really care for potatoes so I don’t grow many.

Unlike our onions. I planted 200 sets and I could easily use another 200. I’m guessing we will run out of onions about Christmas. At least I won’t have to buy any until then. I need to get garlic in the ground but today is too wet to work the ground. I won’t get too worried just yet. So long as I can get it in by the end of this month. I’ll be interested to see how the asparagus does too. I got it mulched yesterday so it should have some protection from the winter weather.

Maybe I’ll dig/pull some parsnips to go with the chicken I’m going to roast today. We’ll see how the weather goes today. If it continues raining I may not mess with it just so I don’t mess up the soil too much. I suppose I’d better get the indoor winter prep chores done.

About littlehawkyarns

I'm a gardener that is trying to provide good food for my family to enjoy. I have two children, two dogs, a husband, four chickens, and four cats. In addition gardening I enjoy handwork such as knitting, crochet, and sewing. I'm in the process of trying to learn tatting and embroidery as well. I am soon adding more critters to the collection since we just got property and I spin yarn.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

