A beautiful morning

We had a lovely pink and purple sunrise this morning. I sat out and enjoyed it with the kids and then realized I didn’t take any pictures. Oh well.

We fared pretty well through our snow storm. I need to do more winterizing for the chickens. I’d like to put a solar light in their coop for a little heat but I don’t know if it is feasible. I’m afraid they would burn themselves on it or something. At the very least I need to add some straw bales for insulation around the bottom and sides. There were more drafts than I would like in there. Of course the winds howling at around 30-60 mph will do that. But we do have to contend with those most of the winter and spring. They are just a fact of life here. If you look up live windbreaks you will find most of the studies were done in Nebraska and/or Eastern Wyoming. There is a reason.

So my Fall clean-up list looks something like this:

Finish pulling tomatoes and tomatillos out
Mulch tomato bed
Mulch asparagus
Dig potatoes and mulch bed
Build cold frame over lettuce, carrots, greens, and parsnips
Burn weeds
Turn compost
Get better storage for chicken supplies
Caulk the lid handle for the dog food to keep water out
Put hoses away
Plant garlic
Dig beds and mulch in prep for next spring
Tiller-find second-hand or rental place or ???
Mow weeds one more time
Sow grass seeds in yard
Pull out bed on outside of fence – bunnies eat everything here and I need the borders for the other garden beds

Those are the major things that need to get done in the garden/yard before winter hits us. Of course we need to add firewood, get an axe, finish installing the wood stove, clear out the garage so the second car can go in and so on. Winter prep is pretty much ongoing.

I’m off to get kiddo to school and do some in town chores. I’m hoping places will be open early enough. You never can tell around here.

About littlehawkyarns

I'm a gardener that is trying to provide good food for my family to enjoy. I have two children, two dogs, a husband, four chickens, and four cats. In addition gardening I enjoy handwork such as knitting, crochet, and sewing. I'm in the process of trying to learn tatting and embroidery as well. I am soon adding more critters to the collection since we just got property and I spin yarn.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

