Fall Snow

Well, Fall just started in earnest and now Winter has arrived.

Wintery chicken coop and back yard

Wintery chicken coop and back yard

We are under blizzard warnings and they are talking up to a foot of accumulation. The poor trees still have green leaves and I’m starting to see lots of comments on Facebook about tree branches coming down. The garden is officially done. Well, as far as the summer garden goes. I have my herbs covered so they may make it. The chickens took one look out there this morning and said no way. I closed their door again. No sense in letting all the wind and snow in if they aren’t going to go out. At least I put a breathable cover on their large vent so the snow isn’t coming in. I put my hand in there and they are pretty toasty. I still want to get some straw bales to put around the bottom edges of the coop so it will block the wind but I didn’t get to it this soon.

I’m hoping our power stays on. I’m only kind of ready for a storm like this. At least this stuff reminds one to get off their duff and get stuff ready for the upcoming winter. Our stove will be going in soon. Hopefully we are tiling the hearth this weekend and then we can get it in place. Then will be the piping and cutting holes in the roof. The scary parts. Measure twice (or five times) and cut once.

I’m off to make sure we have water set aside for all of us and the critters in case the power goes out.

About littlehawkyarns

I'm a gardener that is trying to provide good food for my family to enjoy. I have two children, two dogs, a husband, four chickens, and four cats. In addition gardening I enjoy handwork such as knitting, crochet, and sewing. I'm in the process of trying to learn tatting and embroidery as well. I am soon adding more critters to the collection since we just got property and I spin yarn.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

