Fall chores

I ripped out most of my tomatoes yesterday. That bed is put down for the winter. I have lots of straw mulch thanks to previous owners. I also mulched where I had my peas so I can put strawberries there next spring. Although I may only do half strawberries and expand the asparagus as well. I’m on the fence about that one since my son and I are really the only ones that eat the asparagus.

The summer ran away somehow. I swear it was just spring. I think that is what happens when you end up with a farmer’s market stall. The stall is for my yarn but I’m considering adding herbs next year. Especially if I can get the dill in. I don’t know for sure if I’ll do market next year or not. I guess we’ll see what crazy things we want to do as a family next summer. I know we’ve talked about a camping trip for early on. That shouldn’t be a problem even if I do market.

I feel like I’ve only complained about my bounty this year. All I did last year is complain about the lack of a garden. I really am very grateful my little thrown together garden produced as much as it did. Those are all things I haven’t and won’t have to buy. I am ever so grateful for that little bit of food security. I try to lay in the stores for winter. I need to figure out where to put my latest purchase of 25 pounds of sugar and 50 pounds of flour. I have places to put it but I want to make sure the varmints don’t get to it.

I’ll be very interested to see what I have left come spring. I’m hoping we have tomato sauce left. I know we’ll run out of peaches and pears. I’m going to guess we’ll run out of salsa as well. I don’t expect to make the whole winter by any stretch of the imagination. I am hoping to stretch the small amounts of money we have though.

Here shortly with holiday sales etc. I’m hoping to find some chicken, turkey, and ham on sale that I can stockpile. I want to get some whole chicken and make stock to can so I don’t have to worry about buying that. We figure on making a roasted turkey and making a bunch of our own lunch meat along with stock/broth. Eventually it would be nice to move away from the mass-produced meats but for now I’ll buy what I can afford. If I can get meat that has been well cared for without breaking the bank I will but otherwise I’ll shop the big box stores.

One of these days I’ll get good at keeping records and I’ll keep track of what we eat in a year. Then, maybe I can plan our pantry and get the grocery bill down even further and depend less and less on the industrial food supply.

I think I can maybe accomplish some of that this year. To go along with my Fall chores I need to find some straw bales to insulate the chicken house with. Even if I have to purchase from a feed store the girls need some protection from the winter and spring winds around here.

The grapes got mulched as well yesterday. I still need to mulch the potato and carrot beds as I am going to try leaving them in the ground for storage. That is if I can get our pup to quit digging potatoes. I’d better see if I can get a few more chores knocked out today. We have a good possibility for snow this weekend. There is still plenty of clean-up to do before we get snow.

About littlehawkyarns

I'm a gardener that is trying to provide good food for my family to enjoy. I have two children, two dogs, a husband, four chickens, and four cats. In addition gardening I enjoy handwork such as knitting, crochet, and sewing. I'm in the process of trying to learn tatting and embroidery as well. I am soon adding more critters to the collection since we just got property and I spin yarn.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

