Still canning

Whew! I have 20 pounds of pears that are ripe all of a sudden. I picked them up on Monday and they were close but not at that perfect sweet point. They are now. So, I am canning again. Pear butter, pear halves, and a little bit of dried pears. I still have some tomatoes too so I’m also making some more ketchup today. I have got to get it done.

I can tell I’ve been canning while my son is at school. He asked me when I was going to put stuff up for winter. I told him I had been. He’s funny about it. Telling me we need to dig vegetables and get ready for winter. Yep, I know kid. I’ve felt the push for two months now. My pantry is mostly full. None of it will last the whole winter but it will supplement the grocery budget. Well, I’m hoping the tomato sauce and tomatoes will last the winter. Oh, and the zucchini. The other stuff I’m just hoping to not have to buy as many groceries for a while. I know 6 quarts of peaches won’t last the winter. They’ll get us through a while though because I know we don’t eat a ton of stuff like that. The pears will help make that last too. I’m pretty sure we’ll have enough carrots but we’ll have to buy peas. We’ll probably make it to about Christmas with the onions and potatoes and then we may have to buy. Shallots didn’t get cured right so we won’t have those other than the couple that are mixed in with the onions. I need to pick up some honey from our local guy at market tomorrow. I’m also picking up some roasted sweet Italian peppers. We won’t have to buy corn for a little while but we only have 2-3 meals worth. Luckily we don’t eat a ton.

I’m wishing I could find a half a hog. We don’t go crazy on the meat so I don’t think we want a whole one. I’d like a ham for Christmas and some bacon. The hocks are wonderful in with beans or greens or both. Chops and roasts would be great too. Maybe we’ll go nuts and raise one next year. If I do that I may have to invest in an upright freezer for the garage. We have a small chest freezer and even with little to no meat it is pretty full. That is a good feeling though. I know lots of beef producers around but we are big red meat eaters anymore. I could go for several pounds of burger and one or two roasts but that is about it. I don’t think we would make could use of even a 1/4 beef anymore. Funny how tastes change through life.

I suppose I should go back and stir everything. At least today is a good day to have the oven and burners going. It is grey and gloomy which is the perfect kind of day to stay inside and can.

About littlehawkyarns

I'm a gardener that is trying to provide good food for my family to enjoy. I have two children, two dogs, a husband, four chickens, and four cats. In addition gardening I enjoy handwork such as knitting, crochet, and sewing. I'm in the process of trying to learn tatting and embroidery as well. I am soon adding more critters to the collection since we just got property and I spin yarn.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

