Frost dates

9/20 is our average first frost. Funny because last night was the closest it has come to freezing in a long time. We were down into the mid-30s last night. A certain Fall chill this morning. It is wonderful although now I know I’ll drink too much coffee just for the sheer delight in drinking a nice warm mug of coffee. I could switch to tea but it just isn’t the same for me. I’m one of those crazy people who loves the flavor of coffee. I can drink decaf too just because I want the flavor of a cup of coffee. Especially when it is cold out. Christmas time is time for Irish cream to get put in the coffee and Fall is a good time to add cream and some pumpkin pie spice. I love the Pumpkin Spice Lattes but since there is no place to get them any closer than 2 hours away I’ll make my own.

It looks like the tomatoes are just about done. Whew! It still have herbs, parsnips, carrots, potatoes, and Brussels sprouts in the garden. This weekend is our last CSA share for the season. We could extend it through the winter but I don’t think I can eat that many root vegetables. Maybe we could but I think we’ll just buy from the farmer’s market that runs all winter too. I’ll be there anyway with my yarn so I may as well buy the veggies there too.

I’m just procrastinating at this point. I need to get stuff ready as we are taking a quick trip to visit some family. I just really don’t want to clean the truck or do the dishes. That is all that is left on my list. Well, besides the right before we walk out the door animal care.

I suppose I should get the rest of my chores done and out-of-the-way so I can just enjoy this beautiful Fall day.

About littlehawkyarns

I'm a gardener that is trying to provide good food for my family to enjoy. I have two children, two dogs, a husband, four chickens, and four cats. In addition gardening I enjoy handwork such as knitting, crochet, and sewing. I'm in the process of trying to learn tatting and embroidery as well. I am soon adding more critters to the collection since we just got property and I spin yarn.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

